Shopping Cart

Your cart is empty

Continue Shopping
Eat gluten-free

Eat gluten-free


"Gluten-free" is on everyone's lips and many companies now refer to it when the products are made without gluten. But what is gluten anyway? What contains gluten and should it be avoided in general? We ask ourselves these questions in our blog post. Let's start!


Table of Contents

  1. What is gluten?
  2. Where is gluten in?
  3. Products with gluten
  4. Is Gluten unhealthy?
  5. Gluten free diet
  6. Summary



Gluten is a group of proteins in grains that has a sticky property¹. Mixing flour with water, for example, creates a kind of dough that sticks to your fingers. This is not only the case with wheat flour, but also with spelled, rye, barley and the hybrid plants from the grains.



The main adhesive property of gluten is used in many products in the food sector. For example, gluten is used in baked goods to hold the dough together while making it airy, or in spreads to improve texture. Pasta such as noodles or various types of chips also contain gluten. With chips, the flavor-carrying property of gluten is used. The ingredient "wheat starch" is added to spices to make them stick better to products and thus distribute the taste well².

But not only bread, pasta and chips contain gluten, but also soy sauce and beer. Grain components are fermented here, which means that the end product also goes on the list of foods containing gluten.


The list of gluten-containing products is correspondingly long and some products have to be turned around and the list of ingredients checked before you know whether they are gluten-free or not.



Grain products and baked goods with gluten:

  • Wheat
  • Spelt
  • rye
  • barley
  • einkorn
  • emmer
  • pearl barley
  • couscous
  • bulgur
  • (Durum wheat) noodles
  • Breadcrumbs (and breaded products)
  • Many mueslis and muesli bars (except OMNIbars ;) )
  • Grain-based meat substitutes (seitan)
  • Cakes, waffles and cookies
  • Pretzel Sticks
  • cracker

Drinks with gluten:

  • Beer
  • malt beverages
  • grain coffee
  • bread drink

Sweeteners, binders and gelling agents with gluten:

  • wheat starch
  • Barley malt / barley malt extract



The answer is a resounding "Yes". Gluten is not an ingredient that is hazardous to health, but a natural component of cereal plants. As a rule, it is digested without complications and does not cause any problems.

Those who suffer from the autoimmune disease celiac disease or have a gluten intolerance, on the other hand, must pay attention to the ingredients in the food. For people with celiac disease, the consumption of gluten can have serious consequences, as the intestine loses its structure with this disease³. This is essential for the absorption of nutrients and gluten should therefore be avoided at all costs.

However, eating gluten is also unpleasant for those who suffer from gluten intolerance. Depending on the severity, the symptoms can range from general malaise, tiredness and headaches to abdominal pain and flatulence, cramps and diarrhea⁴.

If you do not suffer from any of the above complaints, a gluten-free diet will not bring you any benefit. On the contrary: avoiding gluten can ensure that you also do without health-promoting products, such as whole grain products.



What is gluten free?

Basically it can be said that fresh fruit and vegetables and barely processed preserves are gluten-free, as are animal products such as milk and eggs. Processed products are either identified separately directly on the front, or the list of ingredients must be read carefully.

There are now many different products that are also offered in a gluten-free version, such as pizza, bread and other pasta. Different flours are used here, such as almond flour, corn flour and rice flour, the combination of which reflects the conventional product well. So it depends on the targeted selection of these products, so that almost unrestricted eating is possible.

Gluten-free products are not only intended for gluten-sensitive people. They can be consumed by anyone and sometimes make it easier to plan meals together.



What am I not allowed to eat?

Care should always be taken with processed products. Some manufacturers use the different properties of gluten, for example in pasta and baked goods, but also in meat substitutes, ready-made sauces or soups, beer, chips and pudding.

It is always necessary to check in each case whether the food in question was produced with gluten or not. Since gluten is one of the 14 main allergens, it must be declared separately on each product⁵. As a rule, this is done by typing the respective ingredients in bold in the end product, which means that the list of ingredients is permanently checked.


Are oatmeal gluten free?

As a rule, oat flakes are gluten-free, but the cultivation and processing of the products often takes place in the immediate vicinity of foods containing gluten, which means that contamination cannot be ruled out. Those affected by celiac disease in particular depend on the manufacturing and processing steps being able to completely rule out possible contamination⁴. This is checked independently and awarded a corresponding seal. So the consumption of filling oatmeal is still possible. These are processed in our OMNIbars together with the so-called pseudo-cereals, such as quinoa. For longer tours or sports activities, the bars are still a super gluten-free snack and carbohydrate supplier that can be enjoyed by everyone without hesitation.

However, a reaction to oats cannot be ruled out in people with celiac disease - around 8% react to oats with various symptoms.



Gluten is a natural component of cereal plants that we encounter in many foods due to its water-binding and sticky properties. It is not necessary to avoid gluten if no corresponding clinical diseases such as celiac disease or gluten intolerance have been identified. However, the indication that it is gluten-free is not a reason not to eat a product because, like the indication "vegan", it does not mean that only a certain group of people can enjoy this food. For those who are specifically dependent on avoiding foods containing gluten, these tips are important and maintaining a gluten-free diet is necessary. This also partly applies to products that do not naturally contain gluten, such as oat flakes - contamination can be ruled out with the reliable information.




    [1] Biesiekierski, JR. What is gluten? Journal of gastroenterology and hepatology. 2017; 32 Suppl 1:78-81.

    [2] BzfE: Spices and herbs - variety of aromas

    [3] NHS: Celiac disease

    [4] Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity: A Review

    [5] BMEL: Allergen labeling is mandatory

    [6] Wheat. Journal of experimental botany.

    Beetroot Cacao

    Beetroot Cacao

    22,90 €

    Carrot Ginger

    Carrot Ginger

    22,90 €